NBA Fit Run: Review and Results

It was a hastily-organized race. Just two short weeks, in fact.  Nonetheless, trust RunRio to come up with a wonderful race still.

It was perfect! I believe that says it all.

RACE REVIEW:

.

1.  Over-flowing water and Gatorade

2. Prompt start with countdown

3. Energizing pre-race program  and warm-up exercises c/o Fitness First

4. Nice starting/finishline  set-up

5.  Sufficient marshalls and security men

6. Finishers’ certificate

7. Very nice singlet – simple design; not peppered with company logos

8. Portalets with tissue paper

9. Dressing room/tent for female runners

10. Nice post-race/awarding program

11. Cheap registration fee at P300 for all distances

It was a small race compared to other Runrio events in terms of number of participants as slots were limited BUT it was definitely large-scale in terms of planning, preparation and implementation.  It was just great!   The way Runrio races have become known to be.

start/finish line

grand stage

MY RACE EXPERIENCE:

With Jun helping out in the event, he was in the race venue earlier.  Good friends Jonas, Jenny and Lorey who are all running the 5k event picked me up at 4:30am and we all proceeded to MOA together.

After some stretching, I proceeded to the corral while my friends went to see Jun in the booth.  I particularly liked the warm-up session this time as there was a lot of space to move and really execute the exercises well.  I saw Inang and Dindo at the corral and we bid each other a good run when the countdown began.  Of course, Dindo (Running DATCom) and Inang sped on and I just took my sweet time especially during the first 2 kilometers.  Joy, my TBR Mara classmate saw me then and we ran alongside each other for a while and got a chance for some easy chat whining about how it is so difficult to get back to regular training. hahaha   It’s always nice seeing you, Joy!

I only got to run a 3k fun run during the  past 2 weeks but clocked in a PR 1.06.06 at this race.  Not bad.  Add to that a 10th place finish (10k female category)  and that’s truly not bad at all! 😉

Furthermore, knowing that good friends got to enjoy running the same race adds to the overall good feeling! Go, go, go Jonas, Jenny and Lorey!

Oh, it was a pleasant surprise seeing Vimz (Kulit Runner) post-race. Glad you’re back racing again! Yahoo!

jenny, lorey and me

and take 2

well... just fooling around! 😉

we almost forgot, it's jonas' turn!

It seems like I’m always at the races but I haven’t raced for quite a while.  That’s because I am wearing different hats when I’m at the races now.  I’m the pink sole’s personal photographer at times, family’s official  photographer at others and sometimes now part of the event’s organizing team.  I am not complaining though.  I am enjoying the different roles.  Rest assured, training goes on as usual.

For someone who’s not racing, he’s really the one consistently training.  Really, if I don’t get more consistent, i might find myself left behind in November. HUHUHU

Oh, race results are out now.  Click HERE to view.

See you at the next race!

1 Response to “NBA Fit Run: Review and Results”



  1. 1 2010 Races « Phil 4:13 runner Trackback on August 26, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


