PINK FIRST BEFORE GREEN

Yes, I’m still thinking pink in this season of green.  Gotta publish this post of an enjoyable all-women’s run albeit late so Jun  can proceed to the Milo green zone…

I was tensed going into the  Team Woman Run.  No, I wasn’t tensed about the relay.  I wasn’t participating in it.  No, I wasn’t tensed about running 5k either.  The tension is coming from coordinating redemption of my friends and family’s race packets.   I was constantly texting upon waking up on race day.  I was texting while at home, while eating,  in the car,  in the restroom, while warming up and texting still just before crossing the starting line.  HAHAHA  For the love of my family and friends who I really want to share this running fever with. 🙂

It was a race full of tutus.  Fairies and clowns graced the events. Yes,  race participants seemingly catching the Tessa Prieto-Valdez fever were apleanty.  Of course, the one and only Tessa, did not disappoint.  She was in a shocking pink tutu over compression tights, with normal running shirt and cap.

Our group were in normal running clothes.  I didn’t want to unnecessarily add pressure to my newbie friends and family members by asking them to wear a costume.  We were around 30 with ages ranging from 11 to 60 years old, would you believe?  My mission for this race was to just invite as many of my friends and family as possible to run and join the race.  I planned to run with each one at least part of the route just to make them feel they’re not alone.  I managed to do this at the first 2 kilometers as I went back to see how other friends are running along, taking their running pics and running on ahead to catch-up with the others again.

At the 3rd kilometer, I just ran-walked-ran with my 11-year old daughter Sofia who was already tired by then as she escaped my net and  ran full-blast early tackling the hills in haste.  She and my 15-year old Bea are both running their first 5k.

Our group broke into natural groupings according to their own paces.  My sister Jen and Bea ran together;  Jun’s sisters, Ate Raquel and Baby, paced each other; Lisa and Sonia formed yet another  group while Marge, Debbie and Rizza each found their own pace.  The others we found only after the race while a couple of them later on texted they failed to wake up.   HAHAHA

Yet, I am very much satisfied. Everyone who got to run was one in saying that they enjoyed and many said they’d be back for more.    It’s a good feeling being able to share this passion called running…

I hope they continue running on…   Till the next race…

Now for the pics…

WAITING AT THE STARTING LINE

me with daughters bea and sofia

jenny, debbie, jen, me, marge, baby, lisa, sofia and bea

first time 5kers sofia and bea w/ first time runners tita baby & tita raquel

good friends jen & marge, first timers no more!

ENJOYING THE RACE…

... and we're off!!!

debbie enjoying her first run without kids in tow while jenny drinking in the sights and sounds of her first race ever!

jenny

debbie

jun's sisters baby and ate raquel, first time 5k'ers

my good friend lisa and her friend sonia enjoying the walk... errr run. 😉

sofia's milestones as she passed km 3

... and then km 4

Jun's cam caught some celebrities, too-Jamie Rivera

…  Rovilson Fernandez  and Illac Diaz

jen and bea

jenny

me with 11 year old sofia at the finish line

Bea, the reluctant runner, finished her first 5k strong and w energy to spare! Woohoo! Congrats Beii!!!

bea, rizza, marge, me, debbie and jenny -- Yey, you did it ladies!

tanya lara who just finished her 10k leg of the relay and me. Good run Tans, Congrats!

at the piazza -- a very nice after-race venue. Like!

my fave girl clowns. aren't they a cute bunch?

with Team U.P. Mandaragat -- Ria Marifosque, Shiela Albasin, Pach Cordero, Jen Anggangan, me and Marianne Camoying

with Mel and her staff

AFTER RACE UPDATES…

Everyone enjoyed the experience and seem to want more.

LISA …  is all set and has registered for her 2nd 5k run.  Woohoohoo!

RIZZA and JEN …  first time to join a race; reminded me to invite them again next time I race. Yey!!!

MARGE … a veteran 5k’er is being urged to level-up to 10k.  Go go go Marge!

JEN … has leveled-up to 10k and raring for some more. Go sis!

BABY … still nursing a lower leg discomfort we hope will disappear with a good massage.

ATE RAQUEL … veteran treadmill user seems to be okay.  Will she run another race?  Only time can tell…

UP Mandaragat Runners … a happy and excited bunch of runners who will definitely be back for more!

ACER Staff… excited for the next run!

SOFIA…  after grabbing a Big Breakfast at McDo is raring to run again.

BEA …  a dancer at heart but wouldn’t mind joining the family for family runs.

The SOLE MATES … raring for some serious training again …  See you on the road! 🙂

9 Responses to “PINK FIRST BEFORE GREEN”


  1. 1 jazzrunner July 9, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Picture with daughters? Para lang kayong mag kakapatid, ah.:-) Nice pics, Mariel!

  2. 3 kulitrunner July 10, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    miss ko na kayo… 🙂

  3. 6 chefsy July 13, 2010 at 11:21 am

    sweet 🙂 running with their daughters, all the more, running with their mom! 🙂

    kassy
    runaholic.wordpress.com

  4. 8 Tin July 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    hi mariel! sayang didn’t see you there. so cute to see moms running with their kids. esp if you look like sisters lang =)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


