Celebrating My First Marathon (Sweet Dreams are Made of These)

Yes, it’s just not the race route providing pleasant and challenging surprises.  My family sprang a couple of them as well!  First, their surprise presence at the finish line which really overwhelmed me…

Here’s a picture story chronicling the time my family arrived at the race scene to surprise me to tears and the ensuing celebration that made my first marathon all the more memorable.

In Solenad, Nuvali…

THE WAIT…

5:30am.. i've been at it for 3 1/2 hours...

the finish line awaits ...

the matador waiting for the charging bulls...

sofie waits for mommy, my sister jen looking out for my grand entrance ;)...

mom and dad can hardly wait...

while Winter, the family cat, wait it out in the car...

.. a tired doggie wonders what all the fuss was about…

then, first runner checks in (congrats benny!) ...

Mikka asks: "is mommy near"

here, here.. just around the bend...

hey there's mom and dad!!!

come on mom, run!!!

Go Mom Go!

yehey!!!

bliss at the finish!!!

marathoner at last!

surprise, surprise!!!

hahaha truly surprised!!!

Can't contain the laughter, can't contain the smiles. Nice one mom & dad! 🙂

mikka, did mommy do a good job? 😉

precious pic with my family (thanks for this copy Ben & Jaymie!)

After letting go of emotions in seeing my family at the finish line, it was time for some happy celebrations with fellow dream marathoners, dream pacers, well-wishers and whoever… hahaha   I’d celebrate with anyone and everyone!!!

with Dr. Lora (2nd-time marathoner) who i briefly ran with in K15 ...

and Joy, a new friend made along the way... (thanks for this photo, joy & hubby)

yvette made sure i got a cup of water plus a cheer at K3 & K23

then there's team second wind, hector & mikey who provided amazing support at K39...

and Coach Rio who dished-out a big cheer for me at K34...

of course there was Iya and Drew who provided glam and fun...

and coach rio who provided... rhum? (haha couldn't find a rhyme)...

before he hammed it up with tessa and with drew on hand...

my prize --42k medal. Anyone interested gran per gram? haha

Well done, well done! Now it's time for some serious fun!

I thought that was it.  It was more than enough BUT the surprise is not over. In fact, it has just began..

Pink Sole:  Where are we having lunch?  Mom & Dad said they’ll go wherever we go.

Blue Sole :  Tagaytay.

Pink Sole : “Really? Nice!”

Blue Sole : “Overnight tayo.”

Pink Sole :  “Huh, talaga? But… I’ve no clothes.  You packed for me?”

Blue Sole :  “Siyempre, eh kami pa!”

Pink Sole :  ” Wow, saya! Galing-galing! Thanks! Mmmmwaaah!  Aloveet! Aloooveeeet!

So off to the mountains we went for some overnight family fun…

There was peace and  quiet moments …


… but  lots of clowning around, too!

These are the stuff that fill my heart with love and laughter …

Sweet dreams are made of these!

"the jump"

me and my solemate

What a weekend that has been.  Forever it will be… etched  in my heart…  colorfully painted in my mind.

This is the day that the Lord has made.  I will be glad and rejoice in it.

Dream BIG.  Run STRONG.

See you still  in the more exciting, much bigger and a lot longer marathon called LIFE.  🙂

11 Responses to “Celebrating My First Marathon (Sweet Dreams are Made of These)”


  1. 1 kulitrunner May 28, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    siempre kailangan ang nasa dulo talaga picture ng solemates… ayos! 🙂 see you sat and sun guys! 😉

  2. 3 journeyingjames May 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    congrats to the both of you! we are marathoners and we live the dream. nice blog

  3. 5 Julius May 30, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Hey Jun and Mariel, congratulations! Love the pics, thanks for taking us along for the ride. Thanks also for dropping by my blog. I’ve added you to my blogroll. Hope you guys don’t mind.

    Will you be doing the Milo Manila Elims? If you are, I look forward to catching you both at the starting line! 🙂

    • 6 thesolemates May 31, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      hi julius, glad you enjoyed the ride and thanks for adding us. We like reading your blog as well.

      Milo is a blurr. Wouldn’t be able to train enough for it. We’re still looking for our next major race. See you around! 🙂

  4. 7 Bro J May 30, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    great pictures capturing those moments! You have a wonderful family!God bless!

    • 8 thesolemates May 31, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      thanks so much Bro J! God bless you too. Hope we get-together soon so we can talk about the mara that gave us all a lasting HIGH. God bless your family, too! 😉

  5. 9 Nora, the golden girl May 31, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    One word: KAKAINGGIT!

    I know it’s wrong to be envious but I can’t help it. Inggit na inggit ako! Sobrang blessed ka ni Lord, Mariel. Even the post-marathon event was carefully planned by your family. I can only imagine the happiness you’re feeeling now. You described running to the finish line as “bliss”. How about the week-end getaway? Is there such a word as “blisser” hehehe . . .

    (thank you pala sa text mo the day before the marathon. I appreciate your concern.)

  6. 10 thesolemates May 31, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    aawww nora, i feel blessed but we all are… just in different ways. In the same breath, we all have our struggles, too, just in different things. You are blessed my friend more than you realize. That, i am sure of!

    Congrats on your marathon finish! Kakabilib how you persevered against all odds and came out a winner.

    Keep running! God bless you and your family! 🙂


  1. 1 NYC Marathon: A Great Gift « The Sole Mates Trackback on October 9, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


