Great Rides End…

I was there when you were recovering from injury, when you started training again, during  long runs and weekend races.  I never failed to give you support.  I was there to protect you in season and out of season. But after all the mileage and experience, there comes a point in my life that I can’t keep up anymore. I have to back off and stay home. I need to take a backseat and let somebody take-over my role.

A few months ago, a new running mate came in — a squeeky clean white, black and yellow ride —  and took  center stage while I, now a scrubby-looking green & gray ride took the back seat,   left home during races and was relegated to the long hours of LSD’s.   I miss the electric race fever. After training for two full marathons and more than 700 kms, I guess it’s time for me to say goodbye. It has been a good run and my time is up.


If my favorite pair of  shoes could talk, that would probably what it would be saying. Yes, my Nike Zoom Start (Green & Gray) has been such a great ride.

When the running bug hit me, it was just my Adidas Super Nova and me.  Getting injured while training for my supposed first marathon in early 2009, I regularly visited a PT who advised me to change shoes that would give me comfort and stability.  I picked the Nike Zoom Start and it worked beautifully for me.  It is  a comfortable pair especially during long runs working seemlessly with my insoles. I was very happy  i found the one that fits my non-biomechanical feet. Its Flywire fit system allows for a  great fit and feel. The open mesh and seamless construction in the forefoot gives me absolute comfort.  That’s why  i decided to get another pair of the same model (a white/yellow/black Livestrong model) Q3 of last year when i began training for the Singapore Marathon’09.

Now retiring my green and gray from active duty,  i need another one for back-up. Problem is, it’s an old model and there is no upcoming new one.   Why do they ever have to de-list good models?

So  i embarked on an international cyber hunt and found one in the US of A.  Now, how do I get-together with my new ride?  Still trying to find a way…

Hehey! Just before publishing, I received good news.  Running friend, Raymund (The Rainman) just arrived from New York tagging along my new ride.  Got it last night! Many thanks Raymund and my brother Vic for making this possible.

Yes, great rides end but … new ones come along.

my new ride aptly colored for a new beginning...

I hear my pink soles clamoring for a new beginning, too.  Ehem ehem  🙂

2 Responses to “Great Rides End…”


  1. 1 vimz May 13, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    ei my friend in pink – i told you… you need a dream marathon outfit. hehe! (hear! hear! blue sole!). *mwaah*

  2. 2 thesolemates May 14, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    nice vimz! 🙂 -Mariel


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


