My Marathon Dream is On!

I will be gunning for my first ever marathon at the TBR Dream Marathon to be held at Nuvali, Sta. Rosa, Laguna on May 22.

So, why am I doing this ?

I ask myself this question even during shorter distance training and races —  at the tail end of a Long, Slow Distance (LSD),  at the last 2-3 kms of a 21k race and even post-race while nursing aches and pains limping around the house trying to keep a straight face and poised stance to my kids’ entertainment.  (“Daddy, daddy look at mom! hahaha” :))

Why do I even run???

I do it simply for what running has done and what it continues to do for me.  Fitness is one of the more obvious reasons and health, the most beneficial.

Why do a marathon?

It is the indescribable and immeasurable joy it brings as I am able to hurdle challenges as I train —  busy schedule, work stress, physical aches and pains, the heat, the rain and bouts of just plain training laziness (haha) — and still go on ahead and run and finish a race.

Like anything else  in this world, circumstances may not be perfect for me now. I am assured though that Jaymie and her team  are working hard to make the TBR Dream Marathon as perfect as first-time marathoners like me could have it.

I admit I was reluctant to register at first.  I thought it was too soon to be doing my full when I just ran my first half mary last December. Now, the excitement has gotten to me.  I really, really hope I have fun running my first marathon ever!

This Sunday, I will be doing my longest training run with the blue sole and the rest of the Dream Marathoners.  My personal goal is to finish 30-32k.    This will be our longest cum test run in Nuvali.  I’m beginning to be all giddy about it.  Our final test before the Big M Day.

handsome medal ... like!

I shall look forward to looking back, smiling at the thought that I pursued … pushed … and conquered.

The dream is on!!!

So, please, please, please…  help me God!  🙂

8 Responses to “My Marathon Dream is On!”


  1. 1 bards April 29, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    mariel – parang meant for you yung finishers medal. see its pink and blue. 😀 have fun!

  2. 5 dennis April 30, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    GO GO GO MARIEL ! And try to convince Per next time too. Haha! Good luck!

  3. 7 m8parco May 1, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Go for it!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


