Condura 2010: From Blunders to Wonders

We all know the Condura Race, the much-awaited, respected organized race,  did not turn out to be  perfect.  There were miscues and basic booboos.

I was one of those affected on 3 counts  –my race packet had the wrong name (had to email secretariat to correct it), my bib had a missing barcode  and  they ran out of  finisher’s medals when i came to claim mine.

Why then do I still feel so good about this race?  It is really the way they pulled themselves together and corrected the errors.  Let me share my experience…

1.  Wrong Name –  I was encoded as Maribel Cruz instead of Mariel Cruz

Petty ey?  Not when it concerns your name.  Anyway, it was not really a big deal but I just wanted to run under my own, correct name this being a special anniversary race for me.  I just emailed the secretariat and was promptly given a reply with a notice that the error has been corrected.  Good!

2.  No Bib Barcode – both Jun and my bibs didn’t have any barcodes.

The organizers acted swiftly and sincerely to correct the slip-up sending individual text messages and emails to affected runners.  We received both text and email messages. No short cuts. I believe this is a sincere way of making-up for the mistakes. Great!

3. Medal Run-out

I emailed the secretariat again and received a prompt reply asking me for mailing details so they can send me my medal.  They were thoughtful enough not to ask runners to go back and claim them.

Furthermore, Ton Concepcion’s short but  individualized  apology for not having received my medal on race day was commendable. He just didn’t leave it to the organizers to apologize.  He went the extra mile and that was really good.

This is one fine example of how not so perfect races can still feel perfect.  Sincerity will always shine through  and will always be appreciated.

Kudos to Pat & Ton Concepcion, Rudy Biscocho and to Team Condura!

We’re happy to have the Condura Race as our First Official Race and we’re hoping to be running more anniversaries here!  🙂

Till next year….

Update:   My medal just came in via courier with Mr. Ton Concepcion’s personal letter.  A copy of the Phil. Star’s Feb 8 issue with the Condura Race in the front page was also included and I was just thinking how I can get hold of one.

I am one delighted runner! 🙂


2 Responses to “Condura 2010: From Blunders to Wonders”


  1. 1 therainman96 February 12, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    they got my name wrong also. “raymundo” instead of raymund.

    the letter being sent by mail with the medal is truly the mark of a gentleman.

    congratulations mariel and jun!

  2. 2 thesolemates February 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Yes, ain’t it great? the concepcions sure knows how to satisfy and pacify their running customers. thanks for dropping a note raymund! see you around! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


