Condura 2010 Prep

Condura is a very important race for me and Mariel because this is the race we both first joined — me back in 2008 and Mariel in 2009.  So it will be my 2nd and Mariel’s 1st anniversary.

I ran a 10k in 2008, 21k last year and will be running 42k this year…

Relatively fresh from my first full marathon experience in Singapore and not really completely satisfied with my run there because of my cramps experience,  i thought maybe i can run another full at the Condura which was just around the corner.  I just told myself to let the holidays lead me to it.  With many parties to attend and plenty of  food to eat, I needed to prepare my body and continue running and training.

First running day came the day after Christmas and another one right after New year.  The deciding factor came when i successfully finished the Rizal Day 32k which gave me the confidence that i can finish a full again after just 2 months.

I continued training since.  I did my interval and tempo runs and important LSDs including the BDM test run where I joined Jay and Vener treating it as part of my training as well as part of my preparation as support crew to these two good friends.

So far, so good.  I’m diligently doing my part.  I hope God multiplies my efforts and allow me a very good run this Sunday.

Finally, after what seems to me like a very loooong running drought, I was able to finally run regularly this week.  I just had to.  I am running out of training days.  I had to do it gradually though lest I risk a painful ITB.

Successful runs  — Monday at BHS (9K), Tuesday at the Ultra (tempo), Thursday at BHS (12.5k)  and my LSD (16.5k) at the UP Oval Saturday capped by a deep tissue massage after.  Heaven!

This turned out to be a great running week. Hoping I keep this up till next week and be confident running my anniversary race at the Condura 2010 Run for the Dolphins.  I don’t think I’d be able to manage doing another LSD though this week.  So, i guess that 16.5k will be my longest before the race.  I’m truly hoping that will pull me through already.

Thanks to all of you out there who encouraged me to re-start my running engines and of course to my solemate Jun who’s been pushing … errr… reminding me and making sure I follow my cramming schedule. hahaha

The heat is on!

We  hope you were all able to register.  See you at the Condura Run for the Dolphins!

In case you want to review details of the race, click here.

6 Responses to “Condura 2010 Prep”


  1. 1 bro j February 3, 2010 at 10:35 am

    See you both at the race! God bless!

    Let’s have some fun! be ready with your song playlist, hehehe!

    • 2 thesolemates February 3, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      I wonder if it’ll be dominated by new releases or revivals. Hmmmm, i’ll let my thoughts on D day or shall I say C day take its course. hahaha See yah and God bless you, too! Have a good run! – Mariel

  2. 3 bugobugo February 3, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    happy running anniversary jun(2nd)and mariel(1st) and good luck to team sole mates!

    • 4 thesolemates February 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      hello jonel! nice of you to drop by. You’re running condura i suppose? have a good run! congrats to the launching of your new running mag! wish you and your new baby the best! -Jun & Mariel

  3. 5 loonyrunner February 4, 2010 at 9:18 am

    good luck this sunday!!! and congratulations!!!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


