She’s Back!

I am increasing my runs lately hoping to gain more mileage each week.  With Mariel barred from strenuous activities for the past 4 weeks especially running, I had to contend with many a puppy face and sometimes bulldog ones 😉 as I go home from my runs.  bwahaha!  As I got home this morning though, I was greeted with a sweet smile and a hug by my solemate all dressed-up in black wearing her fave white & orange running shoes. 

She’s back!!!

Hahaha Yes, I got the go-ahead!  My doctor said I can resume ALL activities and that includes RUNNING!  WOOOOOOHOO!!!

Nothing wrong with the liver but bad cholesterol is higher  than normal.  She explained that that was the underlying reason why my liver reading took a long time normalizing.  So, as per the doc, no meds yet, just a lifestyle change — “Reduce meat on your diet and yes, run.  That will help.”  WOOHOO!  I would love to!!!

At my solemates admonition,  the treadmill was  to be my comeback friend.  No problem with that.  Just as well, I thought, so there were sure to be people and first aid kits should I need it.  he he

So, off I went to the gym this morning.  I resolved to go slowly but surely.  I decided early on that I will not force myself.   I set the treadmill setting to just 30 minutes and walked the first 10, consistent with my goal of just running probably a little over a 3k this morning.  I steadily increased the pace every 1km and finished 3.45km when the treadmill stopped.  That was it?  I just started breaking a sweat.  So….

I hurriedly set it again for 30 minutes not wanting to break the momentum.  I kept closely tuned-in to my body the whole time I didn’t feel out-of-breath nor did I feel anything uncomfortable in my legs.  My right hamstrings were surprisingly not tight and my plantars were… where were they?  Couldn’t feel them!  (must be the shoes, really!  sorry, but I’m really raving about the new Lunar Glide+)   I was having a good time!  I was back running my usual pace of 7:30 at the start of the 2nd 30minute round and even managed a 6:40 – 6:30 pace at the last 3 minutes.   I’m back, yes, I’m back!

Finished this 2nd 30-minute round with a distance of 4.08k or a total of 7.5k this morning.  More than what I hoped for.  Great!

You know what else is great about this run?  I’m running now at the lightest weight I had since giving birth to my 1st child 14 years ago. 

Oh, what a day!  What a beautiful day! 🙂

15 Responses to “She’s Back!”


  1. 1 run unltd. July 9, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Wohoo, the pink sole is back. Celebrate, cheers! See you at the run for home.

    • 2 thesolemates July 10, 2009 at 10:46 pm

      Soooo happy to be back! If you’re registered for the buddy run this sunday, you might just see me there whether as a first-time bandit runner or Jun’s official photographer. 😉 See you around!
      -Mariel 🙂

  2. 3 kulitrunner July 9, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    yehey! welcome back mariel!!! 😉 21k na itech! 😉

  3. 5 Bro J July 9, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    it’s great to know your back into running. I’m sure jun wouldn’t mind buying you a new set of running gear for a comeback, right jun? hehehe

    see you on the road! God bless!

  4. 7 joe July 9, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    yahoo! run to burn those bad cholesterol!

    welcome back! 😀

  5. 9 prometheuscometh July 9, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Welcome back! Good to know you are healthy and running again! See you soon!

  6. 11 ibetlacbay July 9, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    welcome back! 🙂

  7. 12 thesolemates July 10, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Hi Wilbert, thanks! We hope to welcome you back here soon enough. I love reading your blog and your race adventures in different places and would love to meet you when you come back. See you soon! Jun sends his regards. -Mariel 🙂

  8. 13 m8parco July 13, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Mariel – Welcome back. We are so happy that all the tests came out normal. Yes we can all use a slight change in lifestyle to improve our health.

    See you at the starting line!

  9. 14 thesolemates July 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Hi Mark & Tiffin,

    That’s right! I just hope I summon the will to resist the fats. So far, so good!

    Nice seeing you again, this time in my running gear! hahaha

    See you both Sunday!!! 🙂


  1. 1 2009: The Year That Was « The Sole Mates Trackback on December 31, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


