Coping with Uncertainty

Last Friday afternoon, with the results of my blood test on hand, Jun and I marched off to Medical City for my follow-up check-up excited yet equally apprehensive about what the doctor will advise next.  Will she give me the go signal to start running?

The Result:

I haven’t been running for 2 weeks now and I miss it terribly.  I was hoping my doctor will tell me that all is well and I can go back running albeit slowly.  That would have been fine with me.  One look at my test results though and her face turned confused.  “Your liver reading is still elevated.  It even increased.”  With that she asked me a battery of questions — Do you feel okay?  Do you feel tired? Are you eating well?  Are you breathing well?  Does your stomach  hurt? To those I answered a yes, no, yes, yes and no.  She lay me down on the clinic’s bed and checked me out.  Finding nothing unusual and nothing painful, she then said we have to do another test after a week and ordered several more different tests.  “Just to make sure”, she said.   I was told I can now resume normal activities.  With normal she meant doing groceries and going back to work.  Well, that is short of my normal activities.

  Now, the million dollar question,  “Can I go back to running now?”  She was aghast, ” Oh no no no!”   With that my heart sank.  “When?”, I asked.  Get the tests on Friday, see me again the following Monday, then we’ll know from there.”  “Am I allowed to go malling?”  “Relaxed pace, yes.”  Alright! that would do for now!   With that Jun and I headed off to BHS for some easy pace shopping.

Coping with Stress the Sole Mates Way 

1.  Go to Runnr Store, Nike, Speedo, Rox  for some Running Gear shopping

Probably eager to comfort me knowing that I still couldn’t run, Jun brought me to Runnr Store.  I was already sick when they opened so it was my first time there.  We  both had our gait analyzed and of course, I comforted myself with a brand new running singlet and shorts.  Jun, shaking his head, just helped me pick the best ones lest I have the staff  wrap  them all up.

2.  Eat at your fave restaurant

We had late snacks at Oliver’s, one of our fave gourmet sandwich outlets.  Hmmm… yummy!  Coupled with some very relaxed conversation, a real stress buster!

3.  Meet up with friends

Being a Friday,  we decided to wait for the Nike Clinic and just hang out with friends who will be there.  Early on, we had a chance to catch up with Coach Joar, Coach John, Ordo and later on Coach Rio and Vima.  Talks of Cam Sur dominated the topic since some of them are  joining (Jun says ssssh… he’ll be telling you about this in later posts).

4.  Go home early enough for some more bonding time at home with the kids.

There’s nothing like spending time with the kids.  It just brings sunshine to any situation.  Their enthusiastic welcome when we arrived home just makes cutting  the night-out a little short all worth it.

5.  Spend time with the One Source of Real Security.

Nothing is more comforting when you know you’re aligned  with God.  Staying in tuned with Him everyday and not just during not so ideal situations definitely helps us put things in proper perspective.   

Jun is now recovering from his injuries (hopefully, completely) and it is my turn to wait at the sidelines.  I guess, having gone through a “no running” period himself, my solemate fully understands how I’m feeling.  Going through this period, I now understand how he must have felt when he was sidelined with  injuries.  Too bad, I didn’t understand then just how bad he surely must have felt.

Right now, I still get easily tired even just walking at an easy, supposedly relaxed pace.  I find myself breathing  heavier than usual after walking even at malling pace.

But, no worries,  we know Someone up there is in full control and knows exactly what He’s doing.  We rest in Him… 🙂

This morning, I left  home early for a race.  This time, I left alone.  I know Mariel felt bad.  I see the look on her face and understand fully well how much she wanted to join.  In time …

Till then, I’ll just run for us both. 😉

Do that hon… Run well for the both of us… 🙂

Tomorrow, I’m going back to work.  What a week this has been.  I was able to rest well and with classes suspended for a few days I was able to spend a whole week with the family. Imagine that!!! For working Moms like me, that is truly a treat!  God really knows best. His plan is always perfect!

6 Responses to “Coping with Uncertainty”


  1. 1 run unltd. June 28, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Rest easy Mariel, you’ll be okay soon. I missed Jun this morning in the race, I hope he did well. Regards to you both and see you again.

    • 2 thesolemates June 30, 2009 at 10:30 pm

      Hi Vener,

      Thanks for the encouragement. Appreciate it much!

      Jun had a good run that morning. He had to. He was running for both of us. hahaha

      Nice seeing you again!

  2. 3 m8parco June 29, 2009 at 9:13 am

    That was the homily last Sunday. Our favourite priest talked about letting fear get in the way of our life. We certainly have to trust the one upstairs. In his time and in his grand plan.

    We continue to pray for you.

    Regards Mark & Tiffin

    • 4 thesolemates June 30, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      Hi Mark,

      Yeah, we can’t let fear paralyze us or it’ll get in the way of how God wants us to live our lives, right? Thanks for the reinforcement and thanks for the prayers.

      See you both soon!

  3. 5 Bro J June 29, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Truly, God knows best. We will pray for your fast recovery. God bless you and Jun and your children too! Hope to see you in future races soon!

    • 6 thesolemates June 30, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      Hi Bro J,

      Thanks so much! Prayers are always appreciated much in this household.

      God bless you and your family, too!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


