Mizuno Infinity Run, 10k or 15k?

Last week when Jun asked me what I will run at the Mizuno Race, I quipped, “If I have to answer now, I’d say 5K!”.  That was because I was nursing a hip pain from the 7k run I did at the Nike clinic at the Ultra on Tuesday night.  Tsk, Tsk, Tsk, shouldn’t have pushed it when I first felt the pain at the end of the 16th lap.  Pushed for 2 more laps and paid for it with a week-long hip pain.  The pain was a bit dull come Friday.  Jun and I were even able to run an easy 4k at the Nike clinic at BHS.  I find it funny that it felt painful when I was  walking but miraculously disappeared as soon as I started running such that I was so encouraged to run a little faster that night.

Yeah, at some point, Mariel was running faster than usual even going ahead of me that I had to remind her to take it easy.  What I didn’t tell her at that time was that I was feeling some pain on my knees that was why I kept on going down the asphalt road much to her discomfort as she was worried about the on-coming vehicles.  I scheduled a deep-tissue massage that weekend to release tight muscles and hopefully, alleviate the pain.

So, until Sunday, both of us were still not sure yet what we will register for at the Mizuno Race.  On Monday, before going to  Mizuno Club 650, we made our decisions  and I registered her for a 10k and myself for the 15k.  But now, she’s changing her mind.

I asked Jun to sign me up for another 10k since I wasn’t able do any longer runs to prepare me for a 15k.  This very rainy week though saw me boring the hell out of the treadmill. Yeah, you read that right.  I think the treadmill might have been bored more with just one person (that’s me!) running on it instead of  a possible 3-4 peeps for the same period.   I did a 14k and a 12.5k treadmill run this Tuesday and Thursday, respectively.  I bet you, the treadmill got bored being stuck with me that long.  Yes, its the same treadmill I always go to,  my favorite end spot in the gym.  Ha ha ha I swear, I thought I could see the treadmill motor smokin’.  Poor baby!

In rainy days like these, I’m sure glad I’m friends with Mr. Treadmill! 😉

My Rainy Day BFF

Having ran those distances this week, albeit indoors, I feel I can hack the 15k road run this Sunday.  I’ve finished  five 10k runs within a 2-month period and I feel like moving on to a longer distance.  I’m not saying I’m done with 10k’s or even 5k’s for that matter.  I can still run in those distances probably with PR’s in mind.  Right now,  my goal remains  to be building my base first.

We’ve registered and I can’t upgrade anymore.  10k it is for me then.  I’d probably just try to aim for a better 10k finish.  I struggled with the thought at first but I’m okay with it now.

So, see you all this Sunday!

Praying for a good run … Rain or Shine!!! 🙂

4 Responses to “Mizuno Infinity Run, 10k or 15k?”


  1. 1 bards June 6, 2009 at 8:53 am

    nice shoes 😛 see you guys tomorrow!

    • 2 thesolemates June 7, 2009 at 3:52 pm

      Hi Bards,
      Yeah, love the shoes! 😉 Nice bumping into you earlier. Congrats on the new PR! 🙂
      See you Sat! (hopefully!) 😉
      -Mariel

  2. 3 run unltd. June 6, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Good luck to Mariel, tomorrow’s PR run will be in her favor, weatherwise. Kayang kaya mo na yan.

    See you at the mizuno race.

    • 4 thesolemates June 7, 2009 at 4:01 pm

      Thanks Vener! Managed a PR run this morning. 🙂

      ‘Twas nice seeing you again at the race!

      -Mariel


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


