TNF – Brave enough for a trail run?

I salute those brave souls who will be running the 100k trail challenge!  Can’t imagine what you will be going through.  For us, just looking for a little more challenge of  manageable levels, the 10k trail is more than enough.

What awaits us in this 10k trail run at the TNF Sacobia Race in Clark?  Let’s list the pros and cons. ( I’ll start with the cons as these were the ones I thought about first and hard) 😉

Cons:

1.  Dirty, in all probability, muddy shoes

2.  Wet, sandy shoes and socks scraping wet, sandy feet

3.  Wet clothes if it rains;  dusty and sticky if it doesn’t

4.  Scratched arms, legs, neck, face (no, not there!)

5.  Sore feet, sore muscles

Pros:

1.  Different kind of adventure we can tell our kids and grand kids about

2.  New sense of accomplishment (that is… should we ever finish the race 😉 )

3.  Fun and laughter with friends (hopefully!)

4.  Test of strength and balance (hon, should we bring the umbrella, picnic mat and basket, camera,  change of socks/shoes?)

5.  Test of marital endurance and/or commitment?  ( Will Jun be willing to carry me across the river so I don’t get sand inside my shoes? Teka, baka magwalk-out na ito! he he he)  Is this a pro or con? . . . I guess it can go both ways! . . .  oh ooh!

The first cons, #1-3,   are really more mine than Jun’s and pros#4-5 are not really pros but cons to Jun.  Haaay honey, do I really have to explain this pa?  Let’s just say this is all mine, okay Ako talaga ang maraming baka, baka, baka . . .  Kaya ko ba???

After more than a week of thinking,  we’ve finally decided we’re joining!  The pros over-ruled the cons (of Mariel) eventually so here’s …

The Plan:

1.  Bring the whole family to Clark.

2.  Get Mariel a suitable (the least expensive if I have my way) trail running shoes.

3.  Travel light.  Run light.

4.  Easy pace .

5.  Run together.  Finish together.  If initial plans doesn’t change, run and finish with running friends,  Jaymie  and Miguel, Tiffin and Marga.

Thought Balloon:

I hope we’ll have fun … I hope it’s not too rough … I’m excited and  jittery at the same time.  Much like how I felt when Jun and I and 2 other couple friends tried climbing Mt. Pulag last year.  Wait . . . didn’t I get traumatized with the uphill climbs that time and feared stairs and any incline for a couple of weeks after that?  Wasn’t I sooo sore all over that I couldn’t get up the whole day after?  What am I getting myself into?  I can always stop and not finish … I don’t want DNF!

Friend Annie, warned us against doing this . . . It may not be good for somebody who’s recovering from  injury . . . Mariel is prone to ankle sprains . . . However,  both of us are  fitter now than  when we did Pulag . . . There might be hope!

So, with much hope and prayers,  on to TNF!!!

9 Responses to “TNF – Brave enough for a trail run?”


  1. 1 marga May 16, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Haha let’s do it, guys!

    (Then BDSM at Duty Free after hoyeah!)

  2. 3 runnerforchrist May 17, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Go for it, Jun and Mariel! When I first joined TNF last year, I do have some hesitations but after a “different” kind of experience (Trail Runnning), I do crave for more. This coming May 23, that will be my 3rd TNF and my second Ultramarathon for this year.

    Hoping to see you there.

    God bless both of you.

    • 4 thesolemates May 19, 2009 at 12:04 am

      Hi Ronnie, thanks for the encouragement! We’re praying we will have a good experience to come back for more next year. Congrats on your 2 TNF’s and wish you well on your 3rd!

      Run well and safe!

      God bless!

  3. 5 the meek runner May 17, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Hi Mariel & Jun,

    it’s great to know there are plenty of us first timers in this TNF100…and many are husband and wife teams…whohooo!!!

    for us, joining TNF was my idea and my husband (Jun also) although gave his approval and even allowed me to register him is still doubtful if I can make it…..now that I learned somebody share the same thoughts, expectations, and jitters, I am more eager to run and finish my first ever trail run!

    Thanks for your entry!

    See you, guys!

    • 6 thesolemates May 19, 2009 at 12:27 am

      Were the Jun’s in this part of the world made to doubt their wives’ race endurance? Joke!!!

      Glad to know dami tayong husband and wife first timers and glad to know also that I’m not the only one feeling the jitters.

      Have fun and enjoy the run! Hope to meet you soon!

      God bless all of us!

  4. 7 prometheuscometh May 17, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Good luck and see you there!

  5. 9 kulitrunner May 20, 2009 at 11:00 am

    good luck on your TNF10k! ;)go, go BDSM, BDSM, BDSM! lol!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


