I swim..I bike.. to run again!

I read from one issue of Runner’s World about some seasoned  runners who were forced to become swimmers, cyclists or mall walkers  as a result of heavy wear  and tear of their bodies from the constant running.  They shifted to another forms of sports not because it  is their second love nor born out of their desire to do a triathlon but because their bodies  couldn’t take the pounding anymore.   Would you want to end up like that?  From running to cycling or swimming? Forget the mall walking or shopping.  I think that will always be part of our lives as married men who have  no choice, errr.. have chosen to oblige to their wive’s desires and be good husbands.  (Maybe I should discuss  this as an alternative Cross Training module in another entry. Watch out for that!)

Not being able to do or enjoy what I love to do  because of injury is just frustrating.  My knee injury occurred early this year while I was  at the peak of my training for a full marathon.  Good thing it was postponed.  The postponement somehow lessened the negative impact on me.

So, what have I been doing in the sidelines?  When my doctor required me to do PT drills and cross training for leg strengthening,  thoughts about my other loves —  biking and swimming , which I had to give up before came flashing through. . .

. . . During my college years,  I used to swim 3 times a week at night together with my buddies.  We always get  the best lanes in the Olympic-sized pool at the Rodriguez Sports Center (now Marikina Sports Center) since the lifeguard was a good friend.   I normally did  1000-1200m of slow workout each day which I enjoyed tremendously and looked forward to doing it day after day.   I had to reluctantly end the daily swim due to the bothersome sinusitis.

Growing up as a schoolboy in Dagupan City  and as a teener in Marikina exposed me to the sport of cycling as bike enthusiasts would always converge in the two cities to either bike, train, compete or just plain watch.  It was after a few  years more, after  graduating from college, that I took up  biking seriously.  It was then that  I conquered the hills of Antipolo regularly biking with friends who also loved the sport.   I was no hard-core biker.  I was in it for the fun, the laughter and the adventure.  Our weekend biking sessions  were something I always  looked forward to. This went on for about two years.

But then I met my other love, teka… teka… let me correct myself… my one true love. Who else but my solemate! 

(O diba sipsip?)

I decided to give up biking then amidst her serious concerns on the safety of the sport.  Biking accidents were occurring one after another then since most rides were being done on the roads.  I relented…

Now I am going back to both!  A deep love for running and my desire to be fit again to enjoy it regularly has lead me to swim and bike again.  No talk of full marathons for me as of the moment.  I’ll  take a rain check.  I am now  focusing all my efforts  in strength training with the help of these 2 disciplines.  When my knees are ready, then I will start serious  training again.

We are blessed to be living just a stone’s throw away from  the village clubhouse so early morning trips to the pool is not an issue.  Here’s the bonus,  I get to swim for free! (the guard doesn’t charge me anymore as I only use the pool for only 40mins max). However,  with the village pool starting to seem smaller and smaller for me, I now go to a bigger pool to do my laps.  As for biking, Mariel & I reached a compromise so I can start riding again, too.   Her 2 conditions:  1)  I will not ride at a busy road but only ride at a safe place  and,  2) I will not hit the road alone but always with friends(of course!). Yahooo!!!  I’m back doing the 3 sports disciplines that i love!!!  I now do a 40-minute swimming workout, and just started biking to feel the road again.    I really pray I get to enjoy them all again.   Running though remains to be my one great love.

I swim . . . I bike . . . and if ready, I will be running  again.

3 in 1?  Try a Tri? . . . Hmmm. . .

Aba! Aba! Aba!

Let’s just be clear from the very start, okay?  Hanggang running lang ako ha?!?

I’m not into swimming nor am I into biking.  My talent in both is way too limited.  I prefer ballgames specifically tennis and volleyball.  My hand, feet and eye coordination is well developed.  I suppose that’s why I excel in shopping, too.  Ha ha ha  Eye on the ball, eye on the merchandise.  Get it? Ha ha ha ha

Late last year, I noticed I can feel my legs tire out during shopping sessions.  My friends would even comment, “kumukupas ka na yata!”.  It must be the excess weight.  So, I needed cross training, too.

I run. . . and I run. . . So I can walk again!  he he he

13 Responses to “I swim..I bike.. to run again!”


  1. 1 Bro J April 23, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Hi Jun. Good for you that you can still have other sports to consider for your training while recovering from injury. How I wish I can squeeze in swimming for my cross training. Have a fast recovery bro! God bless!

  2. 2 kulitrunner April 23, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    mariel! sama mo naman ako sa cross-training mo. wahaha! 😉

  3. 3 doralicious April 23, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Nice blog Jun and Mariel! Kakaaliw! :O)

  4. 4 ricov April 23, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Nice take on cross-training 🙂

  5. 5 marga April 24, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Jun game ka 2-hour bike ride on Saturday? Me, Hec, and a new friend Carlos. Akyat lang to Antipolo then back. Iksi lang. 🙂

    Mariel, sama din ako sa shopping!!!! Hahaha

  6. 6 thesolemates April 24, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Thanks Bro J.

    Vimz, gastos yan…

    Thanks Doray, glad you enjoyed reading our blog.

    Thanks Ricov.

    Thanks Marga for the invitation. Pero sayang, di ako puede. Have previous commitment. Next time

  7. 7 marga April 24, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Ok ok! Textan na lang! Woooohooo another road cyclist!!!

  8. 8 thesolemates April 25, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Vimz, Marga, game! If there’s a Bataan Death March Ultra Marathon, we can do my version of the BDM (Bags, Dress, Make-over … wait, wala bang S ito? Di puedeng mawala ang Shoes!)

    Guys, sorry kung di maka-relate. Girls talk muna. hehehe But thanks for your nice comments. Makes us excited to post again.

    -Mariel =)

  9. 9 kulitrunner April 25, 2009 at 8:37 am

    mariel! wahahaha! todo. i can do ultra-marathon shopping anytime. teka muna, pagsa-sideline-nin ko lang si art. hehe! 😉

    see you guys soon!

  10. 10 marga April 25, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Mariel ang naughty mo mare!!! BDSM — Bags, Dresses, Shoes, Make-up!!!!!!!!! Jun oh, asawa mo!

    I love love LOVE dresses. As in yung mga pretty flowing girly dresses! Naku, mukhang kelangan ko atang magtayo ng pangatlong negosyo nito at ibenta ang trak ko!

  11. 11 Javy May 4, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Game On! Animo Sprint Tri is just around the corner 😉

  12. 12 thesolemates May 4, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Hey Javy, yeah, heard about that. Might consider it. 😉


  1. 1 Animo Triathlon 09 – My First Tri « Trackback on June 16, 2009 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


