Greener Fields of Running from a Newbie

I’ve joined the Nike Clinic since then though attending mostly  the Tuesday sessions at the Ultra.  Coach Rio and Coach Jo-Ar have probably heard me comment how it was  so tiring or asking in jest  if there is a malling pace.  Honestly? I was having fun!!!! Yes, even when I realized during the first session I attended that the 5 laps they made me run was just for warm-up. Yes, even after they made me do a timed run of 800m, 400m, and 200m one after another with just short recovery breaks.  It’s challenging and I’m loving it!  I’ve never done this kind of running before.  It kinda gave me a feeling of pleasure back when I was playing with my childhood friends.  Last I could remember running this fast was during high school playing our usual “agawan base” at lunchtime at the school’s cemented tennis court using the two steel poles as our bases.  Boy,  did I run a lot faster then even jumping over the well-manicured  flower bushes lining the beautiful grounds of my high school alma mater.   Those were the days . . . Around 40lbs.  ago (bu hu hu).

With the whole week off from work,  the Holy week afforded Jun and I the opportunity to do significant things together.  Wednesday gave us a chance to go on a serious “talking” date where we talked about running and what it means to us as individuals, how it affects our relationship and our family.  I think it was really during this long,  serious but nice talk. with the sunset for our background overlooking the Metropolis, did we really understand how this passion called running which invaded our household has changed the landscape of our married life and how it can enhance our relationship and family.  We realized it was not a burden but a gift we can enjoy together.

By the way, that nice descriptive phrase about the sunset overlooking the Metropolis?  Jun thinks it’s mushy and wants to take it out!!!  Well, men!  They’re really so … I overruled him by pointing out “See that pink sole? I’m the one talking here, you know”…  and that settled it.  hmmp!

But of course,  didn’t let the chance pass to get a daily running work-out!  This one-week hiatus from work gave me a chance to discover the joy of running outdoors.  With gym and oval closed, I had no choice but to run outdoors.  Jun and I headed to UP academic oval early Friday  for a morning run.  We did one warm up round together before we split up. I stayed on the regular oval while he met up with our friend, Jay, and took the 10k route.  (This was to be his test run to see if his knee is recovering well.)  I loved the whole experience!  The lush greenery provided a refreshing departure from the usual TV screen I see during my usual treadmill runs.  I felt sooo relaxed.   The gentle wind against my face was refreshing providing no chance for perspiration to trickle down my temple.  Runners, joggers, walkers and even bikers all shared the same lane with such respect for each one’s space.  The lane was full but not too much.  Just enough for an interesting gathering of the fit and wanna-be fit.  Loving the scene!  Amazing How I was able to finish 5 rounds (11k), hydrating only after the 4th round.  Couldn’t believe I ran that much!  is it really 2.2k per round?  Jun assured me so.  I amaze myself!

Saturday  found me running in UP early morning again with Jun giving his road bike a trial run.  Jun had a good ride (You looked like a professional cyclist there, hon! 🙂 ).  The garage trial ride seemed to have worked albeit some premature minor accidents. (Ooops!)  As for me, can’t say it was as much fun as the previous day’s run  as I walked the 4th round when I experienced unusual and persistent pain in my right calf.  Must be the lack of sleep.  No worries, a 3-hour make-up sleep right after,  a full day’s rest for the calves capped by a Sunday night oval run with very good friends did the trick.  All is well . . . No escaping the Greenfields Run.  Greenfields,  here I come!

Oh no . . .  here’s another running addict in the making!

9 Responses to “Greener Fields of Running from a Newbie”


  1. 1 kulitrunner April 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    wahahahaha! i will be missing you at greenfields on sunday guys. anyway, have a great run you two. 🙂

  2. 2 marga April 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Woohoo! Welcome aboard Jun and Mariel! 🙂

  3. 3 prometheuscometh April 18, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Here’s to more beautiful views and talks while running together!

  4. 4 ibetlacbay April 19, 2009 at 11:14 am

    congratulations on your blog! keep running and blogging 🙂

  5. 5 thesolemates April 19, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Kulit, bakit, nasan ka?

    Marga, Jay and Wilbert, thank you guys! 🙂

  6. 6 Annie April 19, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Hi Jun and mariel! Congrats! In na in talaga ang blog but it’s good coz we can learn so much from you guys! Kwento naman!

    Annie

  7. 7 thesolemates April 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Annie, Wow, Thanks. Touched naman kami. Basta you will always visit our blog, you’ll see more kwentos. Miss you…

  8. 8 kulitrunner April 20, 2009 at 10:02 am

    I did the Tour of the Fireflies. Realizing that I do not have any running activities since Condura, I better do a less intense activity – which is to ride the bike. Kaya lang naging tinapa ata ako sa sobrang init. hay!


  1. 1 2009: The Year That Was « The Sole Mates Trackback on January 7, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


