Hello New York! Our NYC Marathon Escapade

Our US trip was really extraordinarily special for both of us.  I’ve wondered how we are going to even start documenting this momentous trip and this momentous run.  The blue sole and I have shared a joke or two about how and when we’re gonna get started.  I get dizzy just thinking about the many pictures we will sort through and pick from to include here.  hahaha Started writing this at 5:20am bored from being up since 1am.  Yup, still jetlagged after 4 days.  Thank God for the weekend!

THE FLIGHT-OUT

Bags all packed and  “pasalubongs” for our dear family in NJ all wrapped-up, Jun, my sister, Jen and I headed to the airport graciously picked-up from home by Coach Rio.  Sans any sleep (in preparation for a long in-flight sleep) we checked-in early only to be told one of our luggages was over-weight and thus, proceeded to open and transfer some stuff to another luggage.  Apart from that, everything else went on smoothly.  Giddy about our first trip to the US, Jun and I would exchange excited smiles on the plane like kids on our first carousel ride still in disbelief that we are actually on our way to run the NYC marathon.

With a prayer for a safe flight, we looked out the window as the plane took-off and watched the Manila skyline disappear from view ready for the 6-hour stop-over flight to Narita, Japan.  The one-hour stop-over was a frenzy of restroom visits and a really yummy McDonald’s shrimp burger meal for me and Jen and a trusted old McDonalds Bacon Burger Meal for Jun while Rio opted for some hot noodle soup elsewhere.  Before we know it, it was time to board again, this time for our flight to JFK Airport in New York City where we saw the sky turn bright, then dark then bright again all in a span of 12 hours heralding our first major timezone cross-over. Cool!

With Rio and Jen waiting at Narita Airport

We said in our previous post about our NYC Marathon, that we will just take it one step at at time. And So we got our entry confirmation, then our visa, on with our training and  so on. I did not get excited until the day of our flight. When the day finally arrived and we are leaving for New York, I had that moment when I had to stop what I was doing and thought it over again and again…. I just cant believe it …. I am fulfilling my dreams!!!.  Run the NYC Marathon and  finally visit my brother Vic and sister Cris and their families and get to spend time with them.  I was simply stunned and look back at the start of this journey.  So that’s what i did on the plane on our long flight to New York. I didn’t get much sleep but enjoyed every minute of it.

So, when we finally arrived at the JFK airport, we were truly ready for NYC!!!

Kisses, bear hugs, laughter, chatter, intros to the family pets, Dusty(pug) and Pringles(cockapoo), food and more food characterized our first night spent with family.  Arriving in NJ at 6pm, you’d think that was it.  No, no, no… before long, we were off  to see the Manhattan night lights.  What a sight!!!

Our first real taste of the NYC breeze and we were frozen cold!  My face and ears felt like ice and my hair and jeans felt wet.  I didn’t bring my scarf so my neck was stiff from the cold, too.  Doll shoes, i found out, didn’t have a place there.  My feet were freezing and I couldn’t help my teeth from chattering. It was a great night out… cold breezy New York air welcomed us.  Brrrrrr…. Chilly New York!

Next: Our pre-marathon run experience…

4 Responses to “Hello New York! Our NYC Marathon Escapade”


  1. 1 Julie @ Hotlegs Runner November 25, 2010 at 8:13 am

    can’t wait for the next entry. I’m so bitin, LOL! =)

  2. 3 m8parco November 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Jun/Mariel – If you can make it there you’ll make it anywhere!!!

    Regards Mark and Tiffin


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
iamninoy
Sports & Recreation - Top Blogs Philippines

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

